Yesterday a taxi driver asked me a smart question. I take many taxis here, and they always seem to want to ask me the same questions. It gets a little tiring, but here is the line of questioning:
1. Where are you from? I say Estados Unidos
2. Then I inevitably have to answer from where in the US?, which I always hate because I don’t really know. I have lived in 5 different states and the place I lived the longest I despise (it was the winters, sorry Minn), so I usually answer Oregon where I went to High School and where many family members still live. That and no one in Mexico seems to know where Oregon is so they usually stop asking questions.
3. How long have you been in Mexico? About 2 years, though it was at two different times. Again, complicated.
4. What do you do here? Study or work? (This was a tricky one to answer when I did nothing.)
5. What do you do? Consulting always shuts them up – it is so nicely vague.
6. Do you have a boyfriend? Then, if I say yes, always comes Is he Mexican?
And on occasion I have received the best question of all, How tall are  you? To which I defiantly respond, “Taller than you.”

Mexico the first time

Mexico the first time

But on this particular day my clever taxi driver added a new question. He asked me, “Did you come to Mexico for work or because you just wanted to live here?”

So, I had a think. And I realized that the first time I came officially for work, but in reality because I wanted to escape normal life in the US and wanted to have this amazing international experience living in Latin America.
And the second time, I officially came back because I loved it in Mexico so much and missed being here, but in reality I am staying now more for love and work and fear of going back to the US. Funny how we lie even to ourselves and it takes a random taxi conversation to slap us in the face and make us admit what we have really known all along deep down inside. Gracias, Mexico.

